UCA Film Festival

13th Annual UCA Film Festival

The UCA Film Festival is an annual event highlighting the best work of UCA students.  It takes place during Finals Week each year, and is followed by an Awards Ceremony and After Party. Founded in 2005, the UCA Film Festival is now entering its 14th year. Entries are viewed by the UCA Digital Filmmaking Faculty who choose the films that will screen at the festival.  The awards are chosen by a panel of guest judges made up of professionals in the industry. Past judges have included director David Gordon Green, director Rebecca Thomas, film critic Philip Martin, and cinematographer Guy Galloway.

The 14th Annual UCA Film Festival will be held Thursday, May 3rd, 2017 on the UCA campus.

Entries are currently closed but will open in spring.  In the meantime, to learn more about the festival, follow this link to FilmFreeway:

Withoutabox logos are trademarks of Withoutabox, a DBA of IMDb.com Inc. or its affiliates.

13th Annual UCA Film Festival

Best Narrative: Mine to Tell
Audience Choice: Matriarchs
Faculty Choice Award (Undergrad): Among the Stars
Faculty Choice Award (Graduate): Narcissus
Best Narrative Under 5 minutes: Lunch Break
Best Music Video/Experimental: Small World
Best Documentary: Milky Way Mammals

Graduates with Honors and Distinction: Prentice Dupins
Graduate Film Award: Prentice Dupins
Outstanding Student Award: Laura Craig
Leadership Award: Donavon Thompson
MVP Award: Toby Coleman & Justin Farely
Entertainment Partner’s Movie Magic Scholarship: James Wood
Film Scholarships: Matt Magdefrau, Madeline Finne, Whitney Butler, Johnathan Woodson, Zack Stone

Best Direction: Rachael Asherman
Best Screenwriting: Johnathan Woodson
Best Actress:  Lexi Baltzley
Best Actor: Brent Welch
Best Cinematography: Justin Farely & Jordan Howard
Best Editing: Mason Thompson
Best Sound Design: Mark Thiedeman
Best Production Design: Mine To Tell
Best Producing: Claret Alcala Vasquez & James Wood
Best Visual Effects: Mark Thiedeman

12th Annual UCA Film Festival

Best Production Design: Katelyn Allison – Late Fees
Best Producing: Javan Massey – Mr. Whistler
Best Sound Design: Ben Drain – Mr. Whistler
Best Editing: Adam Crain – Love Sinks
Best Cinematography: Jake Lurvey – Mr. Whistler
Best Screenwriting: Jack Evans – Love Sinks and Manic
Best Direction: Jack Evans – Love Sinks
Graduates with Honors and Distinction: Matt Foss, Steven Oder
Outstanding Student Award: Samantha Chase
Leadership Award: Donavon Thompson
MVP Award: Michael Schwarz and Johnnie Brannon
Best Actor: Harrison Trigg
Best Actress: Lexi Baltzley and Berkeley Moore
Faculty Choice Award: Mud Bugs
Best Narrative Under 5 minuntes: Hoops
Best Music Video/Experimental: Bees
Best Documentary: First Love
Best Graduate Film: Theoria
Best Narrative: Love Sinks

11th Annual UCA Film Festival

Congratulations to the winners of the 11th Annual Film Festival:

Faculty Selections:
MVP Award: Thien Ngo
Leadership: Amanda Donovan & Matt Foss
Outstanding Student: Michael Xiques
Best Graduate Thesis Film Award: Jarrod Beck
Production Design: Mason Mobbs
Producing: Andres Cantu, Henchmen
Visual FX: Thein Ngo, Paperboy
Faculty Choice Best Film Award: So Young
MFA Graduates with Honors and Distinction: Jason Miller, Al Topich

Judges Selections:
Best Sound Design: Carol Wise. Henchmen
Best Editing: Adam Crain, Henchmen
Best Cinematography: Connie Critchlow, Henchmen
Best Screenplay: Mathew Foss., The Elevator Affair
Best Direction:Adam Crain, Henchmen
Best Actor: Johnnie Brannon
Best Actress: Mindy Van Kuren
Best Music Video / Experimental: Buffalo Summer, Frontier Folk Nebraska
Best Narrative Under 5 mins: Rocked Out
Best Narrative over 5 mins: Henchmen